Hall of Fame

2008 HOF Voting Results

May 18, 2009. Cooperstown, NY.┬áVoter fraud was unfortunately the topic of conversation this offseason. Recounts were ordered, changes were demanded, heads were called for, but in the end, the results have remained the same. No eligible player was elected to the Hall of Fame this year. The top vote-getters this year were Cal Ripken Jr. (64%), Dennis Eckersley (59%), Jack Morris (55%), Tony Gwynn (55%), Mark McGwire (55%), Kirby Puckett (55%), and Lee Smith (55%). Benito Santiago, Tony Fernandez, Chili Davis, and Tom Candiotti will fall off next year’s ballot, as well as Bruce Sutter whose eligibility has expired after 15 tries, receiving only 18% of the votes this year (50% has been his best year, accomplished twice). Hopeful Jim Rice will have one more year of eligibility next year. Here is a complete recap of the voting:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.